Faith Amour Hair Care

Concider the Transition 2012

Posted on: May 8, 2012


So, you are thinking about transitioning from relaxed hair to natural hair. A tough decision I know. When I transitioned years ago, unfortunately I didn’t have any tips of tricks. The only reason I decided to go natural is because relaxers didn’t really straighten my hair that well and I was tired of it being chin length. Is there a right or wrong answer to transitioning? Not really, but I do know of some tips that will make it a little easier.

THINK LONG AND HARD- Let’s face it, going natural is a major decision. It can affect your social life, family and friends may change, and let’s not forget, it may affect our jobs. This task for not for the weak at heart. There are so many stereotypes surrounding women who decide to go back to their roots and love themselves for how God made them instead of making themselves look like the media and how society wants them to look.

LOOK AT STYLES- There are now a ton of pictures on natural hair styles on the net. Take some time out and pic out some pictures of how your hair will look once it is in its natural state. Now, it will be easier if you know your hair type but if you have a relaxer, how are you to know?!?!?

BRAIDS, WIGS, WEAVES, OR BIG CHOP?- There are many ways to transition. I did kinky twists for the first 2 years and this was before I decided to go natural. It wasn’t until I took out those braids and realized how long the curly hair was vs. the straight so, one day I just washed and wet my hair and cut off all the straight pieces. I discovered weaves and wigs years later and used them as one of my protective styles. They worked great in the winter months to protect my hair from the elements in the air.

YOUTUBE!- My hairs best friend is YouTube. I have learned more than I can imagine watching Youtube Gurus like AfricanExport and KimmyTube. Most of them have tried it all and they give their honest opinion and feedback on products, styles, and tutorials. I actually mimicked a leave in conditioner recipe from KimmyTube that worked on my hair texture as well as my mothers, sisters, and friends. I’ll post some great videos soon.

BUILD A REGIMEN- It’s better to start your regimen sooner than later because that way you will get more accustomed to the practice. Start researching products that work best with your hair. If you don’t know, trial and error is the best way to find out. It took me 3 years to figure out what exactly works on my hair and for my hair texture. Everyone’s needs are different based on climate, age, hormones, genes, and texture. I started with the basics and it adapted from there:

1. Co-Wash twice a week with a cheap conditioner to keep the moisture level in my hair. I may do this more often in dryer months and less often depending on the style at the time. I use Herbal Essence Hello Hydration or Organix Moroccan Oil Conditioner
*I usually finger detangle and set in a protective style such as braids or twists after a co wash. Sometimes I co wash my hair with the twists or braids in my hair if I plan on doing a braid or twist out during the weekend.

2. Deep Condition at least once a week. I always do this unless I have braided extensions in. I deep condition with a protein base deep conditioner because your hair needs a mixture of protein and moisture. Some need more protein and some need more moisture. You have to figure out which one your hair need most. I use Organix Protein Deep Conditioner and detangle with a wide tooth comb in the shower. After it is detangled, I place a plastic cap over my hair and do laundry or cook or what ever for however long I feel like having it on my hair! One time I went running and it was actually the best deep condition ever!

3. Moisturize your hair by using leave in conditioners to moisturize in between washes and co washes. Now the one I use I got from KimmyTube and I tweaked it for my hair.

1 part distilled water (moisture)
1 part aloe vera juice (moisture)
1 part glycerin (softener)
1 part Infusium 23 (Protein)
Mix in a spray bottle and shake. Use when you feel your hair is dry. if you like your mixture to be more of a creamy consistency, use Kinky Curly Knot Today.

4. Seal it up. I seal my hair with a Shea butter mix. I mixed shea butter with essential oils such as tea tree oil, jojoba oil, and extra virgin olive oil, and mixed in a few carrier oils such as hemp seed oil and grape seed oil. i warmed them up and mixed them all together in a glass bowl. I use this after I moisturize to seal it in.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Post Dates

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
