Faith Amour Hair Care

My Hair Care Regimen

Posted on: April 16, 2012


This year I have really been working on my hair care regimen. I have been trying to stick to a rather simple and less expensive regimen that is mostly natural. I have sensitive skin and I want to be able to use products on my hair that will not irritate my already irritated skin. So, here is what I do and I have seen the difference in my hair texture, breakage, and growth. I will try to post pictures but I am lacking the before and after because I don’t wear my natural hair out as often as I should.

For my everyday leave-in conditioner i mix these items in a spray bottle:
1 part distilled water (moisture)
1 part aloe vera (moisture)
1 part glycerin (locks in moisture and softens)
1 part pro vitamin Infusium 23 (protein)

**Infusium 23 Original Formula Pro-Vitamin Leave-In Conditioner infuses hair with Pro-Vitamin B5 for health, manageability, and shine. Rebuilds damaged hair to its natural condition. Restores dry, brittle hair. Protects against split ends. Seals cuticle after chemical services. Adds superb manageability and shine. I decided to add it after realizing that in my old regimen I had all moisture but no protein. I spray this on my hair everyday! (Or at least every other)

Now my hair oil, on the other hand, is a little more complicated yet free-handed! LOL! I really just grabbed every essential and carrier oils I purchased over the years and some of my mothers (the hair oil queen) oils as well and mixed them all in a squeeze bottle. The majority of the oil is extra virgin olive oil and I made sure there was some tea tree and lavender oils in there to tame my itchy and flaky scalp. I squeezed this mixture on my scalp and on the ends of my hair about every other day.

I co-wash my hair every Wednesday (depending on the style) with either Hello Hydration by Herbal Essence or Organix Sulfate Free Moroccan Argan Oil Hair Conditioner.

I wash my hair every Saturday (depending on the style) with Organix Sulfate Free Hydrating Macadamia Oil Shampoo or Organix Sulfate-Free Repairing Awapuhi Ginger Shampoo or Organix Sulfate Free Renewing Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo.

After shampooing, I deep condition with a mixture of one of my conditioners, 1 egg, and a few drops of my hair oil. I leave that in for as long as I can stand it, or I sit under the dryer on medium for a while careful not to scramble the egg in my hair, or if I am at my mothers, I sit under her steamer for about 30 minutes then rinse in cool water. (I always rinse in COOL water)

I either blowdry, french braid, two strand twist, bantu knot, plait, flexi-rod, or roller set my hair for a new style.

I have done this for the last 4 months rather it be in braids, or i have a wig on, or my natural hair. When it is in braids, I did not wash it but maybe once a month (if that) but I did spray my hair with the leave in every day. It’s left my hair very soft and very manageable, shiny, detangled, and just overall HEALTHY. I have also been cutting the ends that I see are split and each month it gets less and less. I am excited to see the growth at the end of this year!!!

WISH ME LUCK!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Post Dates

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweet of Faith

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

