Faith Amour Hair Care

Rod Set

Posted on: December 28, 2011


Rod Set (This post was written by my friend Natasha)

Rod setting Natural Hair:
This can also be a great transitioning style.
FYI: Determine how you want your curls before rodding hair: I like a ton of curls therefore I use a ton of rollers.


Tools Needed:

Wide Tooth Comb
Rat Tail Comb
Perm Rods (I use the purple ones as well as the gray ones)
Hair clips
Leave-in conditioner
Setting lotion, if desired (I dilute my setting lotion with leave-in conditioner)
Elasta QP Mango Butter (or whatever you choose to use to seal ends)
Hooded Dryer (optional)
Glosser or oil sheen
Satin Bonnet

Step-By- Step Instructions:


1. Begin with clean hair
2. Using Wide tooth comb, detangle hair from end to root
3. Section Hair in 4 parts (as if you were making 4 ponytails). Apply a little leave in condition to each section (so that hair doesn’t dry) and pin hair out of the way using hair clips
4. I always begin on my back left side. Start at nape of neck, part a small section of hair using rat tail comb ( I use fairly small sections because in my experience its harder to rod with too much hair on perm rod)
5. Spray that parted section of hair with leave-in concoction or whatever styling aid you’re using for your wet set. Using comb distribute evenly on hair
6. Put a dab of oil on your ends
7. To begin rolling hair start at the end, roll hair up the rod pulling as you go (doing this will get your roots fairly straight as well and it will also smooth hair)
8. Secure rod at root by fastening
9. Repeat steps 2-8 until the entire head is complete
10. Allow to dry. I normally air-dry for 1 hour and I sit under hooded dryer for 30 minutes
11. When you removing perm rods be sure to do this carefully because you do not want to alter the curl as you remove. I remove one rod at a time in a spiraling manner
12. When all rods are removed, I mist my hair with a glosser for added shine
Why is it a Protective Set?
This style lasts me for exactly one week and that’s with working out.
How do I maintain the style? Each night I apply either coconut oil to my hair or I spray oil sheen and I cover hair with satin bonnet. Each morning I separate the curls a little more and I fluff hair to make it fuller.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Post Dates

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
