Faith Amour Hair Care

Cleanse

Posted on: April 20, 2011


How to properly cleanse afro textured hair

Did you know that the only thing that can really moisturize your hair is water? All the serums, oils and conditioners in the world can’t take its place. All they do is help seal in the moisture that water puts into your hair. There is a myth going around that black women should not wash their hair because it will dry out. This is absolutely not true. Don’t be afraid to wash your hair because it won’t fall out or break off. In fact your hair is screaming for moisture, and generally the more you give it the better it is. Your hair is very delicate, so use the gentlest shampoo available that meets your hair’s needs. Use it sparingly because for black hair squeaky clean isn’t a good thing.

1. Gently detangle your hair with a wide tooth comb.
2. Saturate your hair with water with before you apply the shampoo.
3. Use a dime or quarter-sized amount of shampoo depending on your hair’s length. Work it into lather. Concentrate on your scrubbing your scalp.
Remember, shampoo is for the scalp and conditioner is for the hair.
4. Massage your scalp deeply to invigorate it and loosen flakes that might be there.
5. Thoroughly rinse your hair till all traces of shampoo are gone. This should take about 1 and a half to 2 minutes. Part your hair and check to make sure it’s all out.
6. Gently squeeze the water out of your hair.
NOTE: When I wash my hair it is usually in the shower. I do it in the shower because the steam opens the cuticles and allows for a deeper wash and condition. I always part it into four sections because it is easier to wash for me so I twist each section so they are out of the way before I enter the shower. I apply shampoo to one section at a time. I do this by working the shampoo into my scalp first them running my hand down the shaft of my hair, rinsing at the same time. I do this because my hair easily tangles. Plus, running my hands down the shaft prevents splits in my hair. After I have shampooed one section twice, I apply conditioner the same way. Then twist it up and move on to the next section. It takes about 5 minutes per section so after I am all finished the conditioner will have been in each section about 20 minutes. I untwist all my hair and rinse in cool water about 5 minutes to close my cuticle. Rinsing in cool water also traps in the moisture from the conditioner.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Post Dates

April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
