Faith Amour Hair Care

Condition

Posted on: February 16, 2011


How to Condition Afro Textured Hair

An important part of knowing how to wash black hair is using a quality conditioner. Shampoo gets your hair clean but conditioner makes it look healthy.
1. Apply a generous amount of conditioner from roots to ends. Concentrate on the last 1/4 of the length since this is the oldest part of your hair.
Avoid getting conditioner on your scalp, especially if you have flake issues.
2. Leave conditioner on according to instructions. Use a shower cap and heat for a deep penetrating treatment.
3. Rinse, but don’t over rinse. You want to leave a tiny bit of conditioner in your hair.
4. Gently squeeze the water from your hair.
5. Gently blot the water from your hair. Never rub your hair with a towel because that causes damage.
6. Dry and style your hair. If time and your hair texture allow, the best option is air drying.

Never skip conditioner after shampooing your hair. Moisture needs to be put back after the oils have been stripped out with shampoo.

NOTE: When I wash my hair it is usually in the shower. I do it in the shower because the steam opens the cuticles and allows for a deeper wash and condition. I always part it into four sections because it is easier to wash for me so I twist each section so they are out of the way before I enter the shower. I apply shampoo to one section at a time. I do this by working the shampoo into my scalp first them running my hand down the shaft of my hair, rinsing at the same time. I do this because my hair easily tangles. Plus, running my hands down the shaft prevents splits in my hair. After I have shampooed one section twice, I apply conditioner the same way. Then twist it up and move on to the next section. It takes about 5 minutes per section so after I am all finished the conditioner will have been in each section about 20 minutes. I untwist all my hair and rinse in cool water about 2 minutes to close my cuticle. Rinsing in cool water also traps in the moisture from the conditioner. I usually rinse out all my conditioner because I always apply a leave-in conditioner and/or heat protectant before styling.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Post Dates

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  
