Faith Amour Hair Care

I Straightened My Hair

Posted on: January 15, 2011


So Sunday marked the first time I straightened my hair this year. I don’t really know how I feel about it. Everyone at work says they love my hair straight but to be honest, I miss my naps. I can’t stand straight hair on me. It just looks really bad so I end up curling it and when it looks straight I add more random curl. I think after this month, I’m not going to straighten it until my wedding in June. I really miss my mohawk and braids and feel like it best suites who I am. So, I am going to just trim it up and hopefully my girlfriend can braid up the sides so i can wear my hawk. This just goes to show, once you go natural, its hard to go back.

2 Responses to "I Straightened My Hair"

I always feel like I am doing something special when I straighten my hair but then as soon as its done I miss my curls too. Why is that? I remember in high school I would always want my hair to be long and straight and blow in the wind but now every time I straighten it and its pressed hard I look at it and think of a lifeless soggy washcloth just laying there waiting to be shaped into place. There is something about curly hair that has so much personality. Straight hair might seem more sophisticated but I will take the rebellious curls any day!!

I don’t know why that is. It is so common for most natural people to miss their natural hair. For me, I know the struggle it took for me to get to this point. I also feel like I have an advantage over ladies with a relaxer because I can do more styles. I can wear a big afro or wear it straight without putting a weave in it. Our hair is an expression of who we are or who we strive to be. Athough I wear weaves and braids, I feel the most ME when I wear my natural hair.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Post Dates

January 2011
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
